And there came a day, unlike any other…

Avengers

I’ve had a blog of some sort for close to a decade now. The great thing about the internet is that the average joe has a vessel to discuss anything that comes to their mind. Absolutely anything.

Now sometimes that can produce hilarious results, whether intentional or not. What it can also do is present results that make people angry. Take politics, one passion of mine. This subject has the ability to make someone angry over any issue under the political realm. What may be no big deal to me is passion point number one for someone else. For a while I had tried to write about my thoughts on politics, sometimes with decent results, sometimes not so much. The more I would write however the more I became disillusioned about how politics is treated in general. Not that political topics should not be discussed but too often, and I would be lying if I said I hadn’t done this, people base their opinions on emotion and if you challenge them, too often than not you’d find yourself being barraged with links to websites that are the furthest from reputable that support their opinion.

We have a wonderful tool with the internet that allows us access to more actual knowledge than at any other time in history. More and more though people are getting the facts from sites that are not so focused on giving actual facts but manufactured facts that supported one side or anything. Facts have become this nebulous piece of goo that can be shaped into whatever the people manufacturing them want. To get to the bottom of what is fact or fiction takes a lot of work but even then people won’t listen. You have this atmosphere, whether on the left or the right, where facts are not believed because we have been conditioned to believe that some sources of facts support one side and some sources support the other. Us verses them. You have sites like The Huffington Post which go out of their way to demonize conservative news organizations and accuse them of indoctrinating their audience into believing nonsense…all the while doing the same with their audience.

I frankly have had enough. That’s not to say I have suddenly become neutral or anything because if you check out my Twitter page (@timjousma) you will see that is not the case. What I am done with is beating my head against the wall writing about topics that one, people may just dismiss out of hand simply because it disagrees with the “facts” they believe and two, writing topics for people who already believe what I believe and just simply go “Meh”.

So why I am I writing this? Well I do love to write. To be good at writing you have to do it everyday which, thanks to trying to focus on a topic that was depressing me I was simply not doing. So I have decided to change my focus to something that I think more people may enjoy.

Comic Books!

I have been a fan of comics since I was a kid watching the Super-Friends and Spider-Man and his Amazing Friends on Saturday Morning Television. Then of course Batman came in 1989 and despite loathing Tim Burton movies, I fell in love even more. Technology caught up with comics and since the late 1990’s we’ve had more amazing comic book movies than I ever thought we would see on screen.

My main focus is going to be Marvel Comics. Not that I dislike other companies and characters or anything but simply because I am a subscriber to the amazing service that Marvel offers called Marvel Unlimited where for a monthly or yearly subscription price you get access to over 13,000 comics, including everything Star Wars related.

I will read a comic a day. If I read a graphic novel I will make that a focus of a monthly piece. I will judge the comic not only on the story but the art of the piece. Ultimately I hope to either recommend or keep you away from stories that will keep you entertained.

There is more to life than politics. Politics will not go anywhere. People with far more patience than myself will pontificate about it. In the mean time I will be enjoying my time with heroes like Spider-man, Iron Man, Black Widow, Ms. Marvel, and others.

Excelsior!

Leave a Reply

