Silk #1

Silk 1

The first inclination someone on my part would have been to start with either a classic story or to start with a character that everyone knows. One thing about comics as of late that I have thought of was the fact that there were not that many female leads in comics. The main character in the Marvel universe that people are aware of is Black Widow and that’s simply due to Scarlett Johansson giving that character an amazing interpretation. So I wanted to start with a female character I knew nothing about. I found Silk.

Silk is Cindy Moon. In the Marvel universe, she was bitten by the same spider that bit one Peter Parker. The difference was that someone kidnapped her and kept her locked up for over a decade until Spider-man found and freed her. This comic is the start of her solo adventures.

Here is a quick summary of the issue. (http://marvel.wikia.com/wiki/Silk_Vol_1_1) To start with the positives I enjoyed the story. I came into it with no knowledge at all of Cindy Moon and her role in Spider-man’s life. I liked how the story introduced me to the character in a way that encouraged me to keep the page turning. With so many characters out there to choose from a writer has to bring the goods from the start to get people interested in not only reading the issue the reader has in their hands but to continue to spend their money to read the further adventures of the character. I liked how previously established characters like Spider-man and Black Cat felt natural to the story and not shoe horned in just to have a name or two people recognized just to boost sales.

On the flip side, there felt like there was a lot going on that wasn’t really addressed. I get that comics tell stories over many issues. When you read a particular issue it’s one piece of a long story. But this issue did feel at times like you were supposed to already know most of what was going on such as who kidnapped Cindy, what the dynamic with her family was like, the relationship she had with her roommate and co-worker. Sometimes a storyteller can get away with throwing stuff at you without the audience having to fully know everything that is going on. Star Wars Episode Four did this perfectly. There was a lot going on but in the end the basic story was easy to follow. This story was not good in this regard. It needed some more time to flesh out the initial story which with only twenty some pages per issue to work with you only have so much time to get the reader to where you want them to in issue one.

The art work was all right. It wasn’t something that would ever be held in such regard as the comics of ages past but it was sufficient for the story. The cover for the issue was great, almost serving as a movie poster. It told you a lot about the character without a word of dialogue. The art for the story seemed a little rushed. It seems like a mish mash of Saturday morning cartoons from the 80’s and Japanese anime which is just not my style. Granted, my feeling when it comes to comics or animation is that as long as the story is gripping, the animation can be stick figures for all I care so while I didn’t care for the art apart from the cover, it wasn’t such a distraction that it kept me from enjoying the story.

THE BOTTOM LINE:

I liked this issue, flaws and all. While I do feel it could have done MUCH better in presenting a much more fleshed out story, it planted enough seeds that I am interested in reading issue two (whenever Marvel decides to release issue two on the Marvel Unlimited App). In regards to the story I give it a 7. It was a solid introduction that keeps you intrigued enough to want to know more. It could have done better to have the story in this particular issue be more fleshed out. The art I would give a 5. I didn’t much care for it but it didn’t distract me from the story so it is what it is. If you see this in your comic store or are thinking of downloading it, I think you may enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

