Superman: Last Son of Krypton

Last Son of Krypton

After an almost full week of Marvel reviews, thanks to coming across some comics at a local second hand store I will review my first comic from DC. The only reason I’ve been reviewing so much Marvel Comics is due to my subscription of Marvel Unlimited. (http://marvel.com/comics/unlimited) With so many comics at my disposal from one company, logic states that I will gravitate towards them so I can actually have something to do with this blog. But my love for other companies is certainly there. In fact one of my first exposures to comics was Saturday Morning cartoons.

And of course growing up how could I not miss these?

While I have a certain affinity for Marvel Comics, let’s be honest here. Competition makes everyone better. If DC were the only game in town they’d get lazy because they would know they wouldn’t have to compete with anybody. Where else would an audience go? A person would have to be a complete moron if they stuck with simply one company for their comic entertainment. So with that, let’s get to our story.

Summary:

http://dc.wikia.com/wiki/Superman:_Last_Son_of_Krypton_-_FCBD_Special_Edition_Vol_1_1

The Good:

From the start I was happy to see Richard Donner was involved in the creation of this comic. I don’t see why anyone reading a review of a comic book but if you happen to not know, let me tell you. Richard Donner directed the first Superman with Christopher Reeve. He also directed a large portion of Superman 2 but due to differences with producers did not finish that product (despite the fact that some of the footage he shot where he made a cameo stayed in the movie.) Richard has filmed some of the greatest stories in Hollywood going all the way back to the original Twilight Zone and the classic episode Nightmare at 20,000 Feet with William Shatner. His wife helped produce the X-Men films. Her assistant at the time, Kevin Feige, ended up running Marvel Studios. So to say Richard Donner has had a tremendous impact on comics is putting it quite mildly.

The story was well written. While it left off with a To Be Continued, it was written so well you wanted to read more. Because of Donner’s involvement I think it’s no coincidence that the story feels like it is a part of the Superman movie world. Little things like Clark pushing up his glasses with one finger and Perry White screaming for Jimmy Olsen to get him some coffee were a great nod to the movie.

I also liked the element of the new arrival from outer space that scientists determine if from Krypton. Superman’s motivation throughout is that of someone who’s lonely who would do absolutely anything to be with someone of his own kind. You could easily imagine someone who was adopted for example traveling the globe at the chance of finally meeting a member of their actual birth family.

I also liked when Superman got pissed. When the government got involved and took the new arrival away to do god knows what, he finds them in Washington and damn near threatens a man with his heat vision to tell him where the kid in question is. That clearly set up that while Superman is accepted for the most part by the government, deep down there is a mistrust between the both of them. Superman knows that the only reason he’s not being experimented on or being used as a weapon of mass destruction is because he can burn their damn faces off where they stand. Who would stop him?

The art in the piece seemed a little rushed. Having said that I dug how it evoked the feel of the movie. This could have easily been Superman 7 if Richard Donner had stayed director of the series.

The Bad:

This is just quibbling but the art could have been better. While it had it’s good points like I mentioned above it just felt too sloppy at the end. Too many comics today have that rushed look when it comes to their art that just distracts me from the overall experience.

Bottom Line:

There really isn’t much to dislike with this issue. While the cover above was the issue I picked up, keep in mind this story actually appeared in Action Comics #844. It is part of a bigger story that I wanted to finish up so after I am done writing this, I will head to Amazon and buy the other issues. The story I give a 10. The art I give a 7. If you come across this story it will be well worth your time.

Leave a Reply

