Holy F*ck #1

holy-f-ck-issue-1-cover-r1-1280

This comic is not for the faint of heart or folks even the slight being Judeo/Christian religious. This is about how a nun, Jesus, and Satan help save the world from Zeus and Isis from destroying it by nuclear weapons. To Kill a Mockingbird this is not.

I have a weird sense of humor. Sometimes the dumbest things can make me laugh. Like this…

Dumb yes but if you don’t find yourself laughing than you have no soul and are probably a Donald Trump supporter.

This comic is called Holy F*ck. It’s a simple premise and a simple story. A nun, with the help of Jesus, has to stop Zeus and Isis from destroying the world. The issue details her meeting the Messiah in a Japanese karaoke bar where he is smoking crystal meth with a couple naked prostitutes. She takes him to New Jersey where they meet up with Satan who it turns out is Jesus’ long lost lover. The last image of the story is Jesus and Satan kissing. The nun is also kidnapped by the bad guys and Jesus saves the day with guns ablazin’.

This comic is meant to shock. Its purpose is to take images that people hold dear and completely flip them. People will either enjoy what the writer is doing or wish for his place in the deepest place Hell has to offer. The humor in the story comes from the sheer ludicrous situations you find the Savior in. What self respecting deity would find themselves smoking crystal meth? He couldn’t afford coke?

I do like the premise of gods people used to follow looking to cause chaos in order to get people to believe in them again. The only reason Zeus and Isis are looking to do this is to get them, and the other deities that work with them, the faith they had been forsaken for many years due to Jesus. If the comic were to be expanded, which apparently it is just a four issue series, than there could be some room for exploration of the bad guys in the story from just generic bad guys to somewhat sympathetic people who are jealous of their power being taken away due to lack of interest from their former subjects.

The story is funny but have no doubt that this is a one note story. The 24 pages of the story fly by fast because there is not much dialogue to speak of. It is very simplistic and ruins a chance to, while still being something that is very much offensive to people of faith, a vehicle that could explore faith and how humanity has shifted their faith throughout the years. But this story is having none of that. It’s focus is taking images people take as sacred and do their best to put them in as many ridiculous situations as they can. For the most part they’re doing what South Park has done, and done better mind you, yet failing to get why Trey Parker and Matt Stone have been much more successful at writing religious satire than this. If you like seeing Jesus with a machine gun, this is the comic for you.

The art work is simplistic at best but it fits the tone of the story. Being that this is a one note story, if the art were drawn realistic or even drawn in the classic comic style, it would kill the tone. The simplicity of the art, the almost childish aspect of it, helps elevate the tone. It brings out the humor more than a realistic drawing would be.

Bottom Line:

This comic is the equivalent of a fart joke. That doesn’t mean it’s bad cause when the times right, there is nothing more funny than a good, loud fart. I love farting near my dog just to see her look of confusion at the sudden noise coming from my backside. Funny stuff. But being that the story is the equivalent of a fart joke, the substance of what could actually be a pretty decent look at faith through the lens of satire and dark humor is wasted for cheap jokes. I thought the comic was funny and I recommend it but I have to give the story a 5.

The art does a lot to elevate the tone of the story. It is simple and childish but like the material it knows the audience it is shooting for and hits it out of the park. I think that art that was more serious or traditional would have probably killed the joke. I give the art a 7.

Now I want to take a moment and talk about the app I read this comic on. For a few months now I’ve heard about a Netflix for Comics service that was on the way called Comic Blitz. I had tried Comic Fix out and while I enjoyed it some, I was disappointed in the amount of content they had at the price they were charging. Comic Blitz is different. For example, Comic Fix had The Boys from Garth Ennis and had a decent number of issues. Not all however. Comic Blitz has all 72 issues. They also have the Django/Zorro comic line as well as other gems from the indie comic world. The first month is free. Each month after that is $9.99. The sheer volume of comics they have is amazing and I hope to see more companies and more issues and new stories added as time goes on. While I love me some Marvel and DC, the fact is there is more to comic life than just those two companies. One day in and Comic Blitz has been well worth my time and a service that I will certainly enjoy for the foreseeable future. They are not paying me for this. No one from the company has contacted me asking me for a review. While I would certainly love some freebies from them, cause I am one cheap bastard, I want to see them succeed and encourage ALL comic book fans to support this company. Digital comics are the future. While I never wish for regular paper comics to disappear, like Pandora or Netflix, digital services like this are great ways for people to sample material they may not have given a chance to due to price. Services like this allow you to try something that may be out of your comfort zone. Take Marvel Unlimited. Without that app I would not have read Ms. Marvel and now that is my favorite comic. With the new Comic Blitz app, a new favorite is waiting for me to find. I started one called My Boyfriend is a Monster which is off to a good start. Thanks Comic Blitz.

Leave a Reply

