Passion

Passion. You have to have passion for what you do. When you create something from thin air, which is what I do as a writer, you have to be able to have passion for what you create. If you cannot muster up the passion to create, why do it?

A wonderful opportunity arose a little over a year ago thanks to this blog of mine. A much larger website came across my work and asked me if I wanted to contribute. I agreed and had one hell of a time working for them.

But again, passion. Nearing the end of my time there, I just didn’t have the passion. Sure, doors were opening for me that weren’t there before but was that opportunity worth it if my heart wasn’t in the work?

The answer is no. I couldn’t go on. Despite everything that site offered me, I just couldn’t find the passion I needed to continue. So, I’m back here.

“But you’ve said this before Tim,” you might be saying. And you’d be right. But this time is different. Plans are in place. Nothing I can get into too much detail about now but stuff that is exciting as hell. And most important of all, the passion is back baby!

For the website I contributed to, I leave with a wealth of knowledge that I simply did not have for which I have to thank them. They need people that are going to be able to devote the time needed to make that site great. That person is not me simply because I lost the passion to write for them. If the passion is not there, I am not helping them make their site successful.

I also feel it’s important, especially in creative endeavors, to be in control of your own destiny as much as you can. I have recently finished work on the first draft of my second novel. There are other plans for creative endeavors that are just thrilling to think about but again, I’ll leave that for future posts.

For now, it’s time to dust this old blog off and get it purring again. When I started it and reviewed a comic book a day, it got my creative juices working in a way I never thought it would. If I am going to call myself a writer, it will be on my own terms from now on. The passion is back. May God have mercy on us all.

 

Leave a Reply

